Close Menu

Dr. Daniel M. Albert 1992-1996

Dr. Dan Albert

In 1992, Dr. Daniel M. Albert, MD, an internationally recognized ophthalmic pathologist, becomes the first chair without previous ties to Wisconsin or the University. Within a year, Dr. Albert completes the research building initiative that Dr. Chandler had begun in 1989, and the Ophthalmology Research Wing of the Clinical Sciences Center opens.

That same year, Dr. Fred Brightbill, MD and Chris Murphy, DVM, PhD, organize the first annual Resident Phacoemulsification Course at UW-Madison with 12 future physician and veterinary ophthalmologists.This minimally invasive cataract removal technique breaks up the cataract with the use of an ultrasound at the tip of the phacoemulsification handpiece. As the only course of its kind in the country, the Phaco Course provides one-on-one surgical training and gives residents the opportunity to train in the art and science of both human and animal practice and pathology.

In 1995, the Department holds its first Vision for the Future conference, with more than 150 community members coming together to discuss clinical, research, and educational initiatives with faculty.

Suresh R Chandra


Suresh R. Chandra, MD, receives the 1996 Humanitarian Service Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology, in recognition of his humanitarian and charitable missions to third world countries with his foundation, Combat Blindness International.

In 1997, the Department welcomes four new ophthalmologists to the department: Patricia C. Sabb, MD (comprehensive ophthalmologist and assistant professor), Mark J. Lucarelli, MD (assistant professor and oculoplastics surgeon) Barbara A. Blodi, MD, and Justin L. Gottlieb, MD (retinal specialists and assistant professors). The same year, long-standing departmental members Frank L. Myers, MD, Ingold H.L. Wallow, MD, and Richard K. Dortzbach, MD retire. Paul L. Kaufman, MD, is elected president for 1998-99 of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO), the world’s preeminent vision research society.