Close Menu

404 Error

Oh no!

It looks like we couldn’t find the page you are looking for. We are really sorry about that. In the meantime, why not catch up on some recent news?

“Something New in Medical Education”: The Medical School Distinguishes Itself (1907-1924)

Oct 02 2020

The Medical School Distinguishes Itself (1907-1924) Charles Bardeen In 1907, Charles Bardeen is appointed dean of the newly created two-year College of Medicine, creating departments in anatomy, physiology, physiological chemistry,…

Frederick A. Davis’s Chairship Continues (1930-1938)

Oct 02 2020

Frederick A. Davis’s Chairship Continues (1930-1938) In 1927, nineteen men and six women become the graduates of the University of Wisconsin Medical School’s four-year program, and in 1928, the Service…

Dr. Paul L. Kaufman (2004-2014)

Oct 02 2020

In 2004, Dr. Paul L. Kaufman, a glaucoma specialist and researcher who joined the Department in 1975, becomes Chair after a national search. During his tenure, Dr. Kaufman makes the…

2002-2004: Thomas S. Stevens Serves as Interim Chair

Oct 02 2020

Thomas S. Stevens, MD Thomas S. Stevens, MD, a Retina specialist who had served as Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs since 1990, becomes Interim Chair in 2002, serving in this…

1997-2001: Dr. Daniel M. Albert

Oct 02 2020

In 1998 At the Retina Research Foundation of Houston, TX—founded by the first woman to graduate as a resident of the UW ophthalmology program, Alice R. McPherson—two new chairs are…

1992-1996: Dr. Daniel M. Albert

Oct 02 2020

In 1992, Dr. Daniel M. Albert, MD, an internationally recognized ophthalmic pathologist, becomes the first chair without previous ties to Wisconsin or the University. Within a year, Dr. Albert completes…